Old age

Old age, I do curse you so. You make my knees creak and eyes weak. All that I ask is that you let me keep my mind. Don’t let sickness steal memories of loved ones who have passed. Don’t make me forget the sound of my wife’s voice or the beauty of her smile. Is that too much to ask?

No. For memories are the reward of growing old with someone you love. They bring comfort when I see a couple with a new baby. The vision brings back the times I spent watching my own grow and find someone they want to spend the rest of their lives with.

Would I like to be young? Who wouldn’t? Youth has promise and hope of better days to come. Old age means the best years have come and gone. Only comfort in knowing you have done your best most of the time makes getting older tolerable.

Would I trade all my memories and time spent with my family for another chance to start anew? No. Not really. I’ve been blessed.

Leave a Reply

