Happy birthday to my sis

Today is my sister Beth’s birthday. Just a little over two years separates us by age. We come from the same background and parents, yet we are very different. She is a certified mechanic and I can barely screw in a light bulb without repeated attempts. Still, we have so many things in common.

Of my two siblings, she is the one who remembers when our mom was still alive.  I was almost eight when mom died, so I have more defined memories of our mother. Both Beth and I remember the tickle fights with our mom whenever we had a difficult time getting out of bed. We also remember when our father would play the piano and we would dance around the house to the music, laughing and shouting. Great memories.

Even though we don’t live in the same time zones or anywhere close to each other, we can still pickup conversations we were having more than a month ago as if time had never passed. We have at times fought and not spoken to each other except on special occasions, such as birthdays, holidays and death in the family. Somehow, we manage to get past the barriers and get back together as if nothing has happened.

Psychologists like to talk about the importance of birth order in how our personalities develop. The debate has been going on for decades. Maybe there is something to it or maybe it is all just a bunch of chit-chat between overly educated people with too much time on their hands. I can’t say.

What I do know, is that when I’m gone from this world that Beth will be the only one around who will truly understand why I turned out the way I did. Other than for a couple of years, she was there from the beginning.

They say you can pick your friends, but not your family. However, no one will ever understand you as well as a sibling who is close to you in age.  So happy birthday, sis. I hope you have a great one.

Leave a Reply

