Finding temptations nearby

Across the street from the YMCA I work out at five times a week sit an ice cream shop and a McDonald’s. The floor to ceiling window in the exercise room provides an easy view of these two temptations. While there is room in this world for both fitness and dietary excess, placing them so close together seems cruel. At least that is how I feel since I’m someone who is already fighting my own version of the Battle of the Bulge.

I should point out that the YMCA was built before either of the two businesses I’ve just mentioned. Since a large hamburger chain such as McDonald’s knows exactly where to place its restaurants to attract the most traffic, there must be some reason why they choose to be so close to the a place where so many people exercise.

Since the YMCA I’m a member of is within a five block walk from my home, I go by foot every weekday morning around 5:30. Something I’ve noticed is that the two busiest places along my route are the exercise room and the McDonald’s drive-through. I mentioned this to some friends of mine. One confessed that she was one of the people going through McDonald’s at the same time I’m huffing and puffing on a stair-stepper.

“I’m just there because I need the caffeine that flows from there,” she said. “I have my yogurt and strawberries at home.”

Another friend pointed out that we just need to balance it all out. A type of ying and yang type of thing.

The ice cream place has really good shakes and sundaes. I do like McDonald’s pancake breakfasts. I have to admit there have been times when I’ve been tempted to cross the street and get in line. So far, I’m avoided the temptation. Maybe that is what this is really what it is all about.  

Leave a Reply

